Tony Bennett receives Lifetime Achievement Award


The legendary singer will be honored during the ceremony on Thursday, October 28, 2021

Author: Alastair SteelPosted 8 hours ago
Last updated 6 minutes ago

We are proud to announce that the American singer Tony Bennett will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award at this month’s Jazz FM Awards with PPL and PRS for Music. The legendary singer, who has sold over 50 million records over an illustrious 70-year career, will receive the award at the ceremony at Under the Bridge in west London on October 28, 2021.

Revered British multi-instrumentalist Courtney Pine CBE, recipient of the Gold Award, will also be honored at this year’s ceremony. Pine and Bennett join a long list of illustrious artists who have received one of Jazz FM’s special awards, including Herbie Hancock, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Norah Jones, Dame Cleo Laine, George Benson, Pat Metheny, Georgie Fame and Ahmad Jamal.

This year’s Jazz FM Awards will be hosted by Jazz FM presenter Anne Frankenstein and British jazz saxophonist Soweto Kinch and can be watched live on the station’s Facebook page.

Nominees include star saxophonist Nubya garcia, singer at the top of the charts Celestial, London soul collective SAULT, American pianist and singer Jon batiste, burgeoning multi-instrumentalist, producer and composer Emma-Jean Thackray, producer and DJ floating point with the London Symphony Orchestra and Pharaoh Sanders, neo-soul singer-songwriter Ego Ella May, revered Anglo-Italian singer Georgia Mancio, and the legendary alto saxophonist Gary Bartz.

Additionally, for the first time, the event will be followed by a NOLA-themed afterparty for winners and special guests hosted by with a special DJ set by our own Big Easy presenter, DJ Lil’Koko. .

The 2021 Jazz FM Awards are made possible with the support of PPL and PRS for Music, Mishcon De Reya, Travelzoo, Raisin UK, Hampstead Jazz Club Presents,, Sky VIP, Denbies, David Arnold Music and Yamaha.

Jazz FM Awards 2021: nominees

Take a look at our full list of nominees below:

Blues Act of the Year – Nominees

Eric Bibb
Marcus Bonfanti
Ruthie foster

Revolutionary act of the year – nominees

Jas kayser
Nathaniel’s Cross
Secret night gang

The Innovation Award sponsored by Mishcon de Reya – nominees

Blue Note Re: imagined
EFG London Jazz Festival

The Digital Award sponsored by Raisin UK – nominees

Bandcamp Fridays
jazz re: fresh
Kansas Smitty’s

Instrumentalist of the year – nominees

Amanda Merlan
Daniel Casimir
Ed ‘Tenderlonious’ Cawthorne

International Jazz Act of the Year sponsored by Travelzoo – nominees

Christian McBride
Gary Bartz

Soul Act of the Year sponsored by

Ego Ella May
Jon batiste

Singer of the year – nominees

Ego Ella May
Georgia Mancio

Album of the year – nominees

Fergus McCreadie – Cairn
Floating Points, London Symphony Orchestra and Pharoah Sanders – Promises
Jon Batiste: WE ARE
Matthew Halsall – Hello to the sun
Nubya Garcia – THE SOURCE

British Jazz Act of the Year – Nominees

Emma-Jean Thackray
Fergus mccreadie

How to Watch – Jazz FM Awards 2021:

Find out how to watch the 2021 Jazz FM Awards with PPL and PRS For Music.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.