(All) winners of the German Jazz Prize 2022 – London Jazz News


Sebastian attended the award ceremony for the Deutscher Jazzpreis 2022 at the Metropol-Theater in Bremen, on the eve of jazzahead! 2022. We list the winners in all categories (the full list of nominees on this link); a comment will be added later…

Hand on Heart: Charlotte Greve via video from Maine, USA, receiving the flagship award for Entertainer of the Year. Photo Camille Blake/Deutscher Jazz Prize



– Artist of the Year: Charlotte Greve
– Vocals: Fola Dada
– Wood: Gebhard Ullmann
– Brass: Shannon Barnett
– Piano / Keyboards: Pablo Held
– Guitar: Ferenc Snetberger
– Bass: Robert Landfermann
– Drums / Percussion: Oliver Steidle
– Special instruments: Aly Keïta
– Group of the year: Punkt.Vrt.Plastik
– Grand Ensemble of the Year: Trickster Orchestra

Emile Parisien (with co-host Goetz Buehler, right) receiving the Wind/Brass Instruments (International) Award. Photo Camille Blake/Deutscher Jazz Prize

Artists (continued)
– Wood/Brass (International): Emile Parisien
– Piano / Keyboards (International): Sylvie Courvoisier
– String Instruments (International): Linda May Han Oh
– Drums / Percussion (International): Marilyn Mazur
– Artist of the Year (international): Michael Mayo
– Band of the Year (international): Sons of Kemet

Recording / Production / Albums
– Instrumental Album of the Year: Nils Wogram – Muse
– Vocal Album of the Year: Efrat Alony – Hollywood Doesn’t Call
– First album of the year: Magro – Trippin
– Radio production of the year: WDR 3 / State of affairs: Sonifikation
– Instrumental Album (International): Charles Lloyd & the Marvels – Tone Poem
– Vocal Album of the Year (International): Gretchen Parlato – Flor
– First album of the year (international): Tijn Wybenga & AM.OK – Puzzle

Grand winner of the Trickster Orchestra (Berlin). LR: Ketan Bhatti, Cymin Samawatie (co-leaders) with co-host Hadnet Tesfai

Live Music Awards
– Location of the year: Stadtgarten Köln
– Festival of the year: XJAZZ! Festival

– Composition of the year: Rebecca Trescher – Paris Zyklus | The spirit of the streets
– Arrangement of the year: Tilo Weber – Se la mia morte brami

Special rewards
– Journalistic production: Andrian Kreye – American Idol
– Lifetime Achievement: Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky
– Special Jury Prize: HARD BOILED WONDERLAND by Sebastian Gramss – Music Resistance

The Lifetime Achievement Award – the musical partner / wife of Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky, Uschi Brüning, received it on behalf of an important figure who kept jazz alive in the GDR. Photo Camille Blake/Deutscher Jazz Prize

LINK: Deutscher Jazzpreis website

Comments are closed.